Lemon Cake Doughnuts

I love these doughnuts! After the diet change, I thought I would never use my doughnut pans again, and I am so glad I was wrong!
Here are my revisions from this recipe:

INGREDIENTS

  • ¼ cup unsalted butter, melted

I used equal parts of soft avocado.

  • ¼ cup canola or vegetable oil

I used equal parts of coconut oil.

  • ¾ cup granulated sugar

I used 1 tablespoon stevia and 1/4 cup xylitol.

  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tsp grated lemon zest (depending on your tastes)
  • 1 cup buttermilk (or substitute regular milk)

I mixed 1 cup of canned full-fat coconut milk and 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, and let it sit for about 15 minutes before using.

  • 2⅔ all-purpose flour

I used equal parts out of my homemade paleo flour recipe you can find here.

  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries

I sadly had to omit the blueberries due to family preference.

Lemon Glaze:

  • 2 cups powdered icing sugar

For homemade powdered sugar: 1-1/2 cups xylitol and 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder blended in a food processor. For this recipe I would double ingredients and store the remaining in a container.

  • 1-2 tsp lemon zest
  • 7-8 tbsp fresh lemon juice or milk (see notes)

I made the mistake of throwing the whole 8 tablespoons of lemon juice in immediately which resulted in me adding coconut oil and avocado to thicken. Oops! I actually loved the outcome though. Tastes just like summer!

Leave a comment